How do I change the Data usage cycle to correspond with my billing date - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: How do I change the Data usage cycle to correspond with my billing date

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 820, Level: 11
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 130
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered3 months registered100 Experience Points
    k13ehr is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    820
    Level
    11

    How do I change the Data usage cycle to correspond with my billing date

    Hi I'm new to smartphones and this forum.

    I have a couple of problems with my S2.

    In settings> Data usage> Mobile> Data usage cycle is set to 4 Aug - 3 Sep
    In settings> Data usage> Wi-Fi> Data usage cycle is set to 28 Jul - 25 Aug

    My Bill date is 18 August, I've searched the net and any android manuals, and this site a for an inkling of a clue to find out how to sync the above dates so they match my bill cycle, but come up with nothing.

    I'm also having a problem installing Kies but I'll stick with the above for now.

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Kev.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Stupid Modulator
    Points: 15,456, Level: 54
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 544
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered31 days registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience PointsTagger First Class
    stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    1+ Forums
    Posts
    2,169
    Points
    15,456
    Level
    54
    Hello and welcome to the forum.

    I've always used 3g watchdog to monitor my data. It comes with a handy widget and is free from the play store (the market).
    I could be wrong, I usually am. (Because it's only a phone)
    OnePlus One : Galaxy Tab2 10.1

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,594, Level: 44
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 256
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger First Class
    greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,865
    Points
    10,594
    Level
    44
    I have an S3 now and under Data usage cycle, you can click on it and change the date.
    Take it this option is not available to you?

    You mention difficulty in updating via Kies.
    Perhaps this function is on an update, so post your Kies problems (you are not the only one)
    The usual problem is not having the drivers correctly installed on the computer- so open on your computer Device Manager before connecting your phone.
    Now connect and look for errors in the DM. (all assuming you have Windows )
    Last edited by greenman; 08-25-2012 at 10:30 AM.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 59,368, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class31 days registered
    RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    3,649
    Points
    59,368
    Level
    100
    Procedure is the same on S2 & S3, just touch the box that has the dates in and a drop down box will appear which says "Change Cycle" Click this and you can choose you start date.
    ps, it helps us if you can post the details of your phone model, firware version etc (settings >about phone)
    Samsung ATIVs SIM Free. Orange UK. WP8
    SGS 3 i9305 SIM Free. Dev Tool. Galaxy Project ROM. 4.3. Three UK
    HTC ONE Gold O2 UK 4G
    "Help4Mobiles"

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 820, Level: 11
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 130
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered3 months registered100 Experience Points
    k13ehr is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    820
    Level
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by RichH View Post
    Procedure is the same on S2 & S3, just touch the box that has the dates in and a drop down box will appear which says "Change Cycle" Click this and you can choose you start date.
    ps, it helps us if you can post the details of your phone model, firware version etc (settings >about phone)
    Hi RichH, On my S2 there is no drop down box (no matter how hard I tap it ) Mobile or Wi-Fi.

    Phone model GT-19100, Android Version is 4.0.4 Baseband version is 19100XXLQX

    Just so you know I'm doing it all (hopefully) correctly.

    Wake phone, Apps> settings> Data Usage> Mobile tab> tap data usage cycle box & it gets bigger, tap it again and it reduces, there is no menu options for this screen, other than Data Roaming set to off, Restrict Background set to on, Show Wi-Fi usage set to on.

    As asked, re Kies, I have downloaded the file to Laptop, clicked it to run, it asks for language, then starts "evaluating Launch conditions" the app screen continues to change, but it never gets any further, it does sometime say "no internet connection" but after the first time this happened I hard wired it, but same result no install.

    It's not the end of the world, but is annoying.

    Kev.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 59,368, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class31 days registered
    RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    3,649
    Points
    59,368
    Level
    100
    Same FW as mine except my baseband is XXLQ6.
    On my screen I get the option when I touch the box. Does yours look like this?

    Name:  2012-08-26 14.31.55.jpg
Views: 32940
Size:  55.3 KB
    Samsung ATIVs SIM Free. Orange UK. WP8
    SGS 3 i9305 SIM Free. Dev Tool. Galaxy Project ROM. 4.3. Three UK
    HTC ONE Gold O2 UK 4G
    "Help4Mobiles"

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 820, Level: 11
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 130
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered3 months registered100 Experience Points
    k13ehr is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    820
    Level
    11
    Thanks RichH and everyone for the help, A friend with the same phone set it up for me about half an hour ago, for some reason there was another setting stopping it from being changed, and all is now well, Date changed to billing date, I'll search re Kies and if there's no info I'll ask a question about.

    I'd have replied sooner but haven't sussed out how to get a reply notification via email.

    Thanks Kev.
    Last edited by k13ehr; 08-29-2012 at 05:30 PM. Reason: addition

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Points: 50,983, Level: 99
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,017
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience Points31 days registered250 Experience Points
    Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj has much to be proud of Richardj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Gosport, UK
    Posts
    1,647
    Points
    50,983
    Level
    99
    If your trying to install kies on a Windows 7/Vista OS, right click on the installer and select RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR.
    Samsung Galaxy SII GT-I9100. Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2, Rooted. Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1, 16GB, Wi-Fi, Jelly Bean 4.2.2. MoreFine S6 Pro, Jelly Bean 4.2.2, rooted with framaroot.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 820, Level: 11
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 130
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered3 months registered100 Experience Points
    k13ehr is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5
    Points
    820
    Level
    11
    Thanks I'll try that later,

    I managed to changed the mobile data cycle, now I can't do the wifi one, so I went to see how i did it on the mobile data and it won't give me the option again, do I have a duff phone or is there a setting somewhere which prevents it being changed.

    Failing that which is the best app for doing the same job.

    Kev.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator
    Points: 59,368, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class31 days registered
    RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    3,649
    Points
    59,368
    Level
    100
    Why worry about wifi? It's all free !!!!
    Samsung ATIVs SIM Free. Orange UK. WP8
    SGS 3 i9305 SIM Free. Dev Tool. Galaxy Project ROM. 4.3. Three UK
    HTC ONE Gold O2 UK 4G
    "Help4Mobiles"

  12. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts