It doesn't clear all data, media items on your phone will remain there unless you format the internal USB storage. Apps, passwords, settings and contacts will be deleted but music, photos etc should stay. The only pictures that might get deleted would be Camera pictures sitting in the DCIM folder.
ok that explains that then - I misunderstood what a factory reset covered then
and also noted that Google apps page finally registered my phone too, so all looking better today
Last edited by Berksboy62; 06-18-2012 at 11:09 AM.