Galaxy S2 overheating and fast battery discharge - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Galaxy S2 overheating and fast battery discharge

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 196, Level: 3
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered100 Experience Points
    Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    196
    Level
    3

    Galaxy S2 overheating and fast battery discharge

    Hi Everyone, I have had a Galaxy S2 for 4 months and love it. I have had no problems at all with the phone at all however yesterday it got hot at the top near the camera lens and the battery died in 2 hours. I turned it off and on and it seemed ok but then did it again. I removed all apps and everything else that was using the cpu as the news and weather app was displaying loading continually I thought that might have something to do with it. It seemed ok for a while and then did it again. I noticed that although there were 3 grey bars of network signal there was no G/3G/H or in/out arrows displayed next to the bars. Tried a manual network search and it seemed ok but then the same thing happened... overheated and battery died fast again. Turned it off and on again...tried to make a call...no connection. I know I do not get a good signal at home but can usually move around and get one but couldn't even after a reboot. Put sim in another phone and it connected ok.

    Could the phone continually hunting for a network signal cause it to overheat and use up the battery so fast? or is there a fault with the handset?

    I would be very grateful for any advice or comments.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 196, Level: 3
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered100 Experience Points
    Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    196
    Level
    3
    So sorry...posted in wrong forum. I have reposted on Galaxy S2. Apologies...new user ;-(

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,594, Level: 44
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 256
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger First Class
    Array greenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,865
    Points
    10,594
    Level
    44
    There is no doubt your phone will have to work harder to obtain a signal that is weak.
    In doing so the battery will run down more quickly, but I don't think that is your problem.
    If possible return the phone under warranty.
    Alternatively, stop your phone from searching for a data connection by selecting GSM only in Settings >Wireless & network >Mobile network.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 196, Level: 3
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered100 Experience Points
    Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    196
    Level
    3
    Thank you greenman...I have just tried using GSM only and will see what happens... sadly I guessed I might have to return it but hoped I could fix it but as it only happened now after 4 months it does seem to be a handset problem...ah well...thanks anyway for your prompt reply even though I posted in the wrong thread ;-)

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Hi guys,
    After updating to ICS everything went fine.only one problem I have with my phone is that whenver I touch any icon n leave it a red border line comes over the screen for fem seconds. please help me to resolve this issue,plzzzzzzzzz

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 66,129, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class31 days registered
    Array RichH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    4,098
    Points
    66,129
    Level
    100
    You need to do a factory reset after flashing ICS.
    Samsung ATIVs SIM Free. EE UK. WP8.1
    SGS 3 i9305 SIM Free. Resurrection Remix® LP v5.5.9. Three UK
    Note 4 Bronze Gold O2 UK 4G
    "Hidden Content "

  8. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •