Galaxy S2 overheating and fast battery discharge - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Galaxy S2 overheating and fast battery discharge

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 196, Level: 3
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered100 Experience Points
    IreneH is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    196
    Level
    3

    Galaxy S2 overheating and fast battery discharge

    Hi Everyone, I have had a Galaxy S2 for 4 months and love it. I have had no problems at all with the phone at all however yesterday it got hot at the top near the camera lens and the battery died in 2 hours. I turned it off and on and it seemed ok but then did it again. I removed all apps and everything else that was using the cpu as the news and weather app was displaying loading continually I thought that might have something to do with it. It seemed ok for a while and then did it again. I noticed that although there were 3 grey bars of network signal there was no G/3G/H or in/out arrows displayed next to the bars. Tried a manual network search and it seemed ok but then the same thing happened... overheated and battery died fast again. Turned it off and on again...tried to make a call...no connection. I know I do not get a good signal at home but can usually move around and get one but couldn't even after a reboot. Put sim in another phone and it connected ok.

    Could the phone continually hunting for a network signal cause it to overheat and use up the battery so fast? or is there a fault with the handset?

    I would be very grateful for any advice or comments.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 196, Level: 3
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered100 Experience Points
    IreneH is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    196
    Level
    3
    So sorry...posted in wrong forum. I have reposted on Galaxy S2. Apologies...new user ;-(

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,594, Level: 44
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 256
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger First Class
    greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,865
    Points
    10,594
    Level
    44
    There is no doubt your phone will have to work harder to obtain a signal that is weak.
    In doing so the battery will run down more quickly, but I don't think that is your problem.
    If possible return the phone under warranty.
    Alternatively, stop your phone from searching for a data connection by selecting GSM only in Settings >Wireless & network >Mobile network.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 196, Level: 3
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered31 days registered100 Experience Points
    IreneH is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    196
    Level
    3
    Thank you greenman...I have just tried using GSM only and will see what happens... sadly I guessed I might have to return it but hoped I could fix it but as it only happened now after 4 months it does seem to be a handset problem...ah well...thanks anyway for your prompt reply even though I posted in the wrong thread ;-)

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    swarnimanishant is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Hi guys,
    After updating to ICS everything went fine.only one problem I have with my phone is that whenver I touch any icon n leave it a red border line comes over the screen for fem seconds. please help me to resolve this issue,plzzzzzzzzz

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 55,369, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class31 days registered
    RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH has a reputation beyond repute RichH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    3,522
    Points
    55,369
    Level
    100
    You need to do a factory reset after flashing ICS.
    Samsung ATIVs SIM Free. Orange UK. WP8
    SGS 3 i9305 SIM Free. Dev Tool. Galaxy Project ROM. 4.3. Three UK
    HTC ONE Gold O2 UK 4G
    "Help4Mobiles"

  8. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts