[SGS II] Frozen Screen - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Frozen Screen

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    rafaxy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    47
    Level
    1

    Unhappy Frozen Screen

    I bought an used galaxy s2 on ebay and after a few days of use, the screen froze.

    I tried to solve updating the firmware, performing factory reset but it didn't work, it seems to be a hardware defect.

    This is a video showing the problem that I recorded:



    when I turn it on, the initializing sound, volume and touch works fine, but the screen is always the same, frozen, so, the phone is unusable.

    Any ideas on how to solve and if it will cost me too much?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Stupid Modulator
    Points: 15,306, Level: 53
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered31 days registeredTagger Second Class100 Experience PointsTagger First Class
    stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr has much to be proud of stonkr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Note 4 Waiting Room
    Posts
    2,154
    Points
    15,306
    Level
    53
    So, reset in recovery mode didn't throw up any problems.

    Have you flashed different firmwares with PIT and re-partition or just the one flash?
    I could be wrong, I usually am. (Because it's only a phone)
    Triple Eye Pebble with extra added E=MC²:CF-Root:JKay Deluxe
    What next: Note 4?

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    rafaxy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    Ok!
    Problem solved, I installed the last firmware with ODIN and it worked as new.

    The fisrt time I updated the firmware with KIES and it wasn't effective.

    Thanks god!!

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    rafaxy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    After less than a day the screen froze again the same way..

    What can be wrong with it?

    Yesterday I installed Android 2.3.4, so, when I get home i'll update with ICS and see if that solve.

    Is there any stress test I can do after I install ICS to see if the problem continue?

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,594, Level: 44
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 256
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger First Class
    greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,865
    Points
    10,594
    Level
    44
    If you haven't got it you could get 'quadrant standard' from Google Play (Market)
    It will test various elements of your phone for performance.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 47, Level: 1
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    rafaxy is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    47
    Level
    1
    I just updated with ICS 4.0.3 and the screen again returned to work.
    While ODIN was updating the firmware, the screen suddenly worked again.

    I've just ran the 'quadrant standard' benchmark as greenman suggested and it still working.

    I don't know if the screen will keep freezing and I should try to return the phone to the seller or if it's solved now.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,594, Level: 44
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 256
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience Points31 days registeredTagger First Class
    greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman has a brilliant future greenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,865
    Points
    10,594
    Level
    44
    Only time will tell.
    As I think this is a memory issue. If it happens again try removing your sd card and see if that un freezes your phone.

  9. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts