[SGS II] Problem Connecting with USB Cable - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Problem Connecting with USB Cable

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 61, Level: 1
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    woodman78 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    61
    Level
    1

    Problem Connecting with USB Cable

    I have my phone about 4 months. I connect it to USB in work to charge and was able to pull down the notifications to connect to the storage when I needed. I tried it today and when I plug in the USB cable I get "MTP Application" launching. It has a picture of a USB connection and it says connected for file transfer. In windows explorer my 2 drives (removable drives for phone and SD card) are gone and the camera is showing up. When I double click on the camera it brings me into my folders but then I can't access anything in the folders.

    This MTP Application mentions KIES so I presume it is related to KIES Air.

    Can anyone tell me how I remove this and get back to the way I had it before??

    Thanks.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 80,354, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class250 Experience Points
    Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,385
    Points
    80,354
    Level
    100
    Kies Air uses the internet and doesn't require a driver. The MTP application is used to connect to Kies on the PC via USB.

    If you go Menu > Settings > Wireless & Network > USB Settings, there maybe an option to connect via USB.

    Also, when you connect at home to your PC is Kies running the background or is the Kies sytem tray agent open?

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 61, Level: 1
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    woodman78 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    61
    Level
    1
    Thanks Tufftoad.

    Does that mean I need to install Kies on my PC? How come I didn't have to do this before when I connected my usb cable? And how did it get on my phone now?

  5. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 80,354, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class250 Experience Points
    Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,385
    Points
    80,354
    Level
    100
    You only need Kies on your PC at home if you want to sync music, contacts etc. Kies is also used to update the phone's system software (firmware).

    If you do not have Kies installed at home then the MTP application should not be booting up. The MTP application has always been on the phone it's just never cropped up before.

    Did you check under the options menu that I gave?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 61, Level: 1
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    woodman78 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    61
    Level
    1
    Tufftoad,

    When I go to the USB Utilities with the cable connected and press "Connect storage to PC", I get a window popping up saying "Attention: USB is connected. Remove the cable"

    If I then remove the cable and press "Connect storage to PC", another window pops up that tells me to "Connect USB cable to use mass storage."

  7. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 80,354, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class250 Experience Points
    Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,385
    Points
    80,354
    Level
    100
    Start with the USB cable removed from both PC & Phone. Go to the USB Utilities without the cable connected and press "Connect storage to PC", then insert the cable and see what happens.

    If you still have troubles connecting it may be worth installing Kies just to update the USB drivers.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 61, Level: 1
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    woodman78 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    61
    Level
    1
    No joy Tufftoad. When I plugged in the cable I got this message appear at the bottom of the screen.
    "PC connection only available in idle.
    Close running applications."

    I went and stopped all running applications and then tried but no joy there either.

    By install Kies you mean on the PC.

  9. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 80,354, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class250 Experience Points
    Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad has a reputation beyond repute Tufftoad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,385
    Points
    80,354
    Level
    100
    Yup, installing Kies on the PC will also install USB drivers.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 61, Level: 1
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class
    woodman78 is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    61
    Level
    1
    Thanks I'll give it a go.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 5,004, Level: 30
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 296
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class7 days registered100 Experience PointsTagger First Class250 Experience Points
    theTimo will become famous soon enough theTimo will become famous soon enough theTimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Xibalba
    Posts
    278
    Points
    5,004
    Level
    30
    You say 'It has worked before'. Have you flashed a new ROM recently, that's usually the situation I recall that kind of a thing happening.
    SGS I9000 w. 32GB SD / 1800 mAh
    X-Bean 1.0 JB (4.1.1)
    I9000XXJVT / Devil3_1.0.4 (1200 MHz)

  12. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts