Recovery Mode - ADB Shell - No root permission - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Recovery Mode - ADB Shell - No root permission

  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 972, Level: 12
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    rizi is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    42
    Points
    972
    Level
    12

    Recovery Mode - ADB Shell - No root permission

    Hi, I f***ed up my SGS by installing a theme.
    I created a backup of the files, overwritten by the theme.

    The problem is I can not start my SGS anymore.
    So I started into Recovery mode and conntected to the SGS via ADB Shell.
    everything is working there but when I say su I got the error: permission denied.
    And yes my phone is rooted and I also installed apps which needed root permissions.

    How do I get root permissions in the adb shell during recovery mode?

    br
    rizi

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 2,686, Level: 21
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 114
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class100 Experience PointsTagger First Class250 Experience PointsCreated Album pictures
    abhiraj is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    170
    Points
    2,686
    Level
    21
    hey i would suggest u to flash it thru odin
    or if u dont want to do so enter recovery thru 3 button tric n try it

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 972, Level: 12
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    rizi is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    42
    Points
    972
    Level
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by abhiraj View Post
    hey i would suggest u to flash it thru odin
    or if u dont want to do so enter recovery thru 3 button tric n try it
    Hi, of course its possible to flash it again with Odin, but all Settings/Apps and so on will be lost.

    So I entered already recovery thru 3 button tric, and in the recovery I conntect with adb to my phone.
    That works great, but I have to overwritte two files in /system/framework and I got permisson denied <-- therefore I want to gain root permissions.
    Is there no way to get root permissions in adb via recovery mode ?

    When my phone was running and I connected via ADB, Ninja asked me if I want to allow root permissions, I clicked Yes, so with a running phone I can get root permissions over ADB, in recovery mode its not possible for me.

    Any suggestions?
    thx
    rizi

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 15,015, Level: 53
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 435
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredCreated Album pictures100 Experience Points250 Experience Points500 Experience Points
    tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,089
    Points
    15,015
    Level
    53
    Ah, when you say "when I say su I got the error: permission denied." in previous post, I thought you mean as soon as you type "SU", you get access denied.

    That works great, but I have to overwritte two files in /system/framework and I got permisson denied <-- therefore I want to gain root permissions.
    Are you on JPK? Samsung has decided to mount /system as read-only, maybe for security purpose. Samsung might not change it back as this is read-only to other android device too.

    If you'll have to change files in /system you've to type the following command to remount /system as read-write:
    busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy I9100 Unlocked/ Rooted
    Network: O2 UK
    Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 972, Level: 12
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    rizi is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    42
    Points
    972
    Level
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by tiptronic View Post
    Ah, when you say "when I say su I got the error: permission denied." in previous post, I thought you mean as soon as you type "SU", you get access denied.


    Are you on JPK? Samsung has decided to mount /system as read-only, maybe for security purpose. Samsung might not change it back as this is read-only to other android device too.

    If you'll have to change files in /system you've to type the following command to remount /system as read-write:
    busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
    Hi,
    I am on JM8.
    I thought I need to have root permissions to remount /system?
    I will try it..

    Thx for the fast reply
    rizi

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 15,015, Level: 53
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 435
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredCreated Album pictures100 Experience Points250 Experience Points500 Experience Points
    tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,089
    Points
    15,015
    Level
    53
    I havn't tried JM8, but if you only get access denied when modifying the '/system', chances are it is marked as read-only. If you have not got root access, you will already get access denied message as soon as you type in 'su'.
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy I9100 Unlocked/ Rooted
    Network: O2 UK
    Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 972, Level: 12
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    rizi is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    42
    Points
    972
    Level
    12
    Unfortunately it says busybox not found:
    I did the following
    1) start into recovery mode (Volume Up + Home + Power)
    2) Connected the phone to my laptop
    3)started a command line(in Windows) an navigated to androidSDK/tools
    4)typed: adb shell
    5.)typed: busybox ......

    Busybox could not be found..

    If I connect my phone during its running and do the following:
    2) Connected the phone to my laptop(USB Debugging enabled)
    3)started a command line(in Windows) an navigated to androidSDK/tools
    4)typed: adb shell
    5.)typed: busybox ......
    It shows me the parameter of busybox...

    Any ideas, why its not working during recovery mode?

    thx
    rizi

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 15,015, Level: 53
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 435
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredCreated Album pictures100 Experience Points250 Experience Points500 Experience Points
    tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,089
    Points
    15,015
    Level
    53
    Try this: After "adb shell", do "su" first before you do the busybox command.
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy I9100 Unlocked/ Rooted
    Network: O2 UK
    Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 972, Level: 12
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 0%
    rizi is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    42
    Points
    972
    Level
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by tiptronic View Post
    Try this: After "adb shell", do "su" first before you do the busybox command.
    Sorry tiptronic, I missunderstand you, because when I am in recovery mode (Home Up + Home + Power) and I type: adb shell, and then su, I got permission denied.
    I also got permission denied when I want to copy something in the /system directory.

    So the question is why do I get permissions denied in the recovery mode???
    Because when my phone is running and i type: adb shell, and then su --> I get the root permission!!

    thx for your help
    rizi

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 15,015, Level: 53
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 435
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredCreated Album pictures100 Experience Points250 Experience Points500 Experience Points
    tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic has much to be proud of tiptronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,089
    Points
    15,015
    Level
    53
    So the question is why do I get permissions denied in the recovery mode???
    I am not sure why as I can access to the su while I am in recovery mode, could it be the problem of files in /system/framework? If you still got the update.zip in your internal sd card when you rooted your phone, maybe you can re-apply it again and see if you can gain access to su again? If that still doesn't work, I can only suggest re-flash as I don't think factory reset to help if you can't even reboot your phone.

    ps. I had the same problem while messing with the framework-res.apk for the battery status icons. End up I have to reflash the bloody thing again. Luckly I have everything backup in titanium so it is not so bad for me to reflash.
    Phone: Samsung Galaxy I9100 Unlocked/ Rooted
    Network: O2 UK
    Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ

  12. Remove Advertisements
    Samsung Galaxy S Forum
    Advertisements
     

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts