Firware update [Archive] - Samsung Galaxy S Forums : Galaxy S2 S II Forum

: Firware update



Nicholas John Ward
05-12-2011, 12:44 PM
When on Kier i get update notice but it just wont load.Tried stopping all running apps on phone but no good,wont load.Any idea's

mark22
05-12-2011, 01:02 PM
Not sure if it matters but have you got usb debugging on?

hazi1964
05-12-2011, 07:05 PM
I believe usb debugging should be disabled.

Which country are you in? Only asking as I am in the UK and haven't had any update option as yet.

Alison

Doob
05-12-2011, 07:26 PM
Would this be the Gingerbread update?

hazi1964
05-12-2011, 08:14 PM
When on Kier i get update notice but it just wont load.Tried stopping all running apps on phone but no good,wont load.Any idea's

Actually, are you sure it's a firmware update notice or is it a Kies software update as that has recently changed.

Alison

fred wren
05-12-2011, 09:13 PM
[QUOTE=hazi1964;34596]Actually, are you sure it's a firmware update notice or is it a Kies software update as that has recently changed.

Alison[/QU
I get the same problem. Keis says : Current Firmware is PDA KDD/PHONE KDH/CSC KD1 (XEV)
Latest Firmware is PDA KD1/ PHONE KDJ /CSC KD1 (XEU)

Professor Yaffle
05-12-2011, 09:17 PM
I'm with Alison. Not literally, you understand, damn that injunction... I think it's a Kies update of it's own software, not a firmware update for the phone.

For instance, if you are in the UK, on firmware 2.2.1 or earlier and Kies says "This is the latest firmware" then it is telling the truth. 2.3 (Gingerbread) isn't officially available in the UK and many other countries as yet.

If we're wrong, post some screenshots of the messages you get and that may help work out what's going on.

Professor Yaffle

llBlackenedll
05-12-2011, 09:43 PM
I can confirm that it says a firmware update is available. I haven't tried actually doing yet.

About being in debugging mode - if you're in debugging mode Kies doesn't recognise your device.

mark22
05-12-2011, 09:44 PM
There's definately the option because I updated to XWKE1 earlier today.

Edit: Also if you reflash the new stock kernel after rooting the yellow warning triangle disappears.

llBlackenedll
05-12-2011, 09:48 PM
There's a whole thread on it here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075175) too...

Professor Yaffle
05-12-2011, 09:59 PM
Doh! - That will teach me going for the "Today's Posts" link - I didn't realise it was a Galaxy S2 thing until I saw the screenshots!

That's cleared that up (another quote from my nurse).

I guess that other thread will reveal all...

Hope you get it sorted.

Professor Yaffle

Briggs
05-12-2011, 10:39 PM
You can download the new firmware and update manually via Odin if you have issues. I guess this update is a bug fix release.

New firmware:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=NTOY006J

PDA:XWKE1
PHONE: XXKDJ
CSC:XEUKD1 (XEU)

llBlackenedll
05-12-2011, 10:43 PM
Lol great - it restores all the Saumsung crapware.

mark22
05-12-2011, 11:09 PM
Lol great - it restores all the Saumsung crapware.

Ha yeah and I'd just got rid and sorted my app drawer into folders.

Nicholas John Ward
05-12-2011, 11:13 PM
Sorry excuse my stupidity but once downloaded how do you do a manual upload to phone

fred wren
05-13-2011, 05:11 AM
There's definately the option because I updated to XWKE1 earlier today.

Edit: Also if you reflash the new stock kernel after rooting the yellow warning triangle disappears.

My Android Version is 2.3.3
Baseband Version is 19100XXKDH
Kernel Version is 2.6.35.7-19100XWKDD-CL161513 root@DELL103-2
Build Number Gingerbread. XWKDD

So it appears I already have the update, so why does Kies tell me to update? Very confusing. First bug I`ve come across. cheers FW

llBlackenedll
05-13-2011, 09:11 AM
So I left my phone on overnight and in 6 hours, it lost 2%, not bad going! Think this firmware fixed some battery drain stuff as at that rate, on idle the phone would last about 12 days..



Sorry excuse my stupidity but once downloaded how do you do a manual upload to phone

See here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278)

mark22
05-13-2011, 10:25 AM
My Android Version is 2.3.3
Baseband Version is 19100XXKDH
Kernel Version is 2.6.35.7-19100XWKDD-CL161513 root@DELL103-2
Build Number Gingerbread. XWKDD

So it appears I already have the update, so why does Kies tell me to update? Very confusing. First bug I`ve come across. cheers FW

XWKDD is still the old firmware surely?

llBlackenedll
05-13-2011, 10:44 AM
XWKDD is still the old firmware surely?

Yeah you're right - those are all the old versions.

Mine says:

Android: 2.3.3
Baseband: I9100XXKDJ
Kernel: 2.6.35.7-19100XWKDD-CL161513 root@DELL103-2
Build number: GINGERBREAD.XWKE1


Note that my kernel still says XWKDD as I re-flashed the insecure kernel to root, which is the old version.

mark22
05-13-2011, 11:24 AM
Yeah you're right - those are all the old versions.

Mine says:

Android: 2.3.3
Baseband: I9100XXKDJ
Kernel: 2.6.35.7-19100XWKDD-CL161513 root@DELL103-2
Build number: GINGERBREAD.XWKE1


Note that my kernel still says XWKDD as I re-flashed the insecure kernel to root, which is the old version.

I mentioned this somewhere already but you can reflash the newer kernel after rooting and will stay rooted. There's a thread on xda about it and links to just the kernels are in the main rooting post on there. I assume it brings more stability and also gets rid of the yellow triangle. I think you just need to flash the insecure kernel after each update to allow the root access and then flash back again.

llBlackenedll
05-13-2011, 11:46 AM
I mentioned this somewhere already but you can reflash the newer kernel after rooting and will stay rooted. There's a thread on xda about it and links to just the kernels are in the main rooting post on there. I assume it brings more stability and also gets rid of the yellow triangle. I think you just need to flash the insecure kernel after each update to allow the root access and then flash back again.

Cheers. There's a 2nd update already... XWKE2

fred wren
05-13-2011, 12:04 PM
Cheers. There's a 2nd update already... XWKE2

Just tried again. Now getting "failed to get permission from the GT-19100 administrator, the programme will now close". I dont want to flash, as I think that if you pay 500 for a phone you shouldnt have to.
BTW does google maps have an add-on that will give you speed camera warnings? thanks folks.

llBlackenedll
05-13-2011, 12:09 PM
Just tried again. Now getting "failed to get permission from the GT-19100 administrator, the programme will now close". I dont want to flash, as I think that if you pay 500 for a phone you shouldnt have to.
BTW does google maps have an add-on that will give you speed camera warnings? thanks folks.

Close Kies, right click the Kies shortcut, run as administrator should do it. Also what Kies is doing is flashing, it's just more automated than Odin.

hazi1964
05-13-2011, 12:54 PM
Doh! - That will teach me going for the "Today's Posts" link - I didn't realise it was a Galaxy S2 thing until I saw the screenshots!

That's cleared that up (another quote from my nurse).

I guess that other thread will reveal all...

Hope you get it sorted.

Professor Yaffle

Damn, I've been following this thread thinking it was for the Galaxy S not the S2. It would be very helpful when posting about this sort of thing if the original poster would include which phone model and also which country they are in to save any confusion.

Alison

mark22
05-13-2011, 12:55 PM
I just updated and debranded using odin and the generic rom. All my uninstalled apps came back again but they al are at the top of the list in Titanium baclup so easy to uninstall again. This time I'm just going to freeze them as ones I has frozen before stayed froze. Only ones I uninstalled came back again. Does anyone know if freezing is any worse for performance than uninstalling?

Briggs
05-13-2011, 04:34 PM
Sorry excuse my stupidity but once downloaded how do you do a manual upload to phone


Here flashing with Odin 3 in download mode: http://samsunggalaxysforums.com/showthread.php/4692-Full-Guide-How-to-Debrand-your-Samsung-Galaxy-S2

llBlackenedll
05-13-2011, 09:14 PM
This is much more like it! Last night it only used 2% in 6 hours with synching etc on! And today I've lost 12% in about 6 hours (obviously that's with usage). And my battery curve is completely smooth.